Skip to Content

Your version of Internet Explorer is not adequate for correct display of this website. You must use Internet Explorer 9 or better.


Contenido principal


NEA - Información General

The Nuclear Energy Agency  (NEA) is an organisation created in 1958 and partly dependent on the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), based in Paris. It was created to push back the bounds of knowledge in the area of nuclear energy. Its membership includes states of Europe, North America and Southeast Asia, the majority of the world’s nuclear capacity. The NEA works closely with the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) in Vienna and the European Commission (EC) in Brussels.

The mission of the NEA is to help its member states maintain and develop the scientific, technological and legal foundations for ensuring that peaceful applications of nuclear energy are safe, clean and economical. To this end, the NEA is structured as a forum for international cooperation, a place where information and experience can be shared through technical working groups to foster consensus among countries. The Spanish Nuclear Safety Council is an active participant in the  NEA's technical working committees

The NEA sponsors and supervises numerous research and development programmes and projects proposed by member countries’ organisations. It also contributes to the development and management of international databases.